MPMA Logo Top  
...building stronger museums
through community and collaboration...
MPMA Logo Main
MPMA Logo Mountains

Award Nominations

How To Nominate (scroll down)

2008 Award Winners:

The Mountain-Plains Museums Association (MPMA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 Publications Design Competition. Established in 1953, MPMA is a regional museum association that provides services to museum professionals in ten states: Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, and Wyoming. MPMA is one of six regional associations in the United States that work in conjunction with the American Association of Museums.  

MPMA President, Rick Young announced the awards will be presented during the association’s annual meeting in Kansas City, October 21-25.  


For institutions with operating budgets of $250,000 and over:

New Mexico Museum of Art, Museum Resources Division, Santa Fe, New Mexico, took top honors in Books and Exhibition Catalogues for Flux: Reflections on Contemporary Glass, designed by Monica Meehan. 

Best design in Brochures and Rack Cards was awarded to the Hiwan Homestead Museum, Evergreen, Colorado for its museum brochure. Designer for the brochure was Bridgit Silver.

The National Museum of Wildlife Art, Jackson Hole, Wyoming, received the top award for an Invitation, Development or Promotional Package for “Try Us For the 20th,” designed by Sarah Giegel. 

The Gilcrease Museum, Tulsa, Oklahoma, received the top design award for a magazine, newsletter, quarterly or biannual publication, for the “Gilcrease Journal” designed by Carol Haralson.

For institutions with operating budgets under $250,000:

The Philip L.Wright Zoological Museum, University of Montana, Missoula, Montana, received first place in the Invitation, Development or Promotional Package category for its 2008 Calendar designed by David Dyer and Johanna Ciampa.

MPMA Awards Committee:

Serving as judges for the competition were: Nicholas Traub, Traub Design Associates, Spring Hill, Kansas; Bill Siemens, Graphic Artist, Oklahoma Historical Society, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; and Cody Jacobson, Graphic Artist, Plains Art Museum, Fargo, North Dakota.  Chair:  Kathy Dickson, Oklahoma Historical Society, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.


HOW TO NOMINATE                     

Mountain-Plains Museums Association Annual Awards

Through these awards, MPMA celebrates the best and brightest of the region’s creative thinkers and leaders.  The MPMA awards honor excellence in leadership and cultivate the highest creative standards at the regional level for the museum community in MPMA’s region of ten states. MPMA Awards Committee is accepting nominations for the following awards: the Excellence in Publication Award, and the Museum Leadership Award.   You may nominate yourself, a colleague, a friend, or your own museum.

                                                                MPMA's Awards

Excellence in Publication Award

The publication award recognizes an individual or institution in the MPMA region for outstanding work on the following:    

a.  Books and Exhibition Catalogues

b.  Invitation, Development or  Promotional Package

c.  Brochures and Rack Cards

d.  Magazines, newsletters, quarterly or  biannual publications 

Museum Leadership Award

The leadership award recognizes a MPMA member institution for its leadership or significant contribution to the museum field within the MPMA region.  


Complete Information about the 2009 Awards Program  and the nomination form

will be posted in early 2009.


MPMA:  A 10-State Museum Association

Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming

All content © 2002-2008 MPMA | 7110 West David Drive | Littleton, CO 80128-5404

T: 303.979.9358 | F: 303.979.3553 |