Quick Links
 

 
 Home Page
 
 Advocacy
 
 Archives
 
 Business directory
 
 Conferences
 
 Emerging Professionals
 
 Jobbank
 
 Marketing Opportunities
 
 Membership
 
 Purchasing CO-OP

Board and Committee Chairs

BOARD ELECTION

MPMA's 2015 Nomination Process will open in Februrary

 

From Joe Schenk, Past MPMA President and Board Development Chair:

I would certainly encourage you to put forward names of individuals including your own name, who would be interested in serving on the Board and who also could make a contribution to the future of MPMA. Without a doubt, serving on this board is a stimulating and educational experience where Board members contribute to the growth and direction of a major regional museum organization. 

                        MPMA's Board at its Midwinter Meeting in Snowmass/Aspen,CO.  2014

                 Planning for the coming year at Snowmass' Westin Conference/Hotel Center.

MPMA's Board at its Midwinter Meeting in Lincoln, NE.  2013

                         

  MPMA's Board at its Midwinter Meeting in Corpus Christi, TX.  2012

MPMA OFFICE: 

303-979-9358    General Email Address: mountplains@aol.com

Officers, Board Members-at-Large, Committee Chairs

OFFICERS 

OFFICERS:

PRESIDENT                           2013-2015

Michael J. Smith (Mike), Director/CEO

Nebraska State Historical Society

PO Box 82554 / Lincoln, NE 68501-2554

402-471-4745 / Fax 402-471-3100

 michael.smith@nebraska.gov

 www.nebraskahistory.org  cell 402-613-1707

 

VICE‑PRESIDENT             2013-2015

Susan Baley, Curator of Education

Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art

The University of Oklahoma

555 Elm Avenue / Norman, OK 73019-3003

405 325 3270 / fax 405 325 7696

sbaley@ou.edu   www.okmuseums.org

 

SECRETARY        2015-2017

Delaynna Trim, Curator of Collections

Mabee-Gerrer Museum of Art

1900 West MacArthur / Shawnee, OK 74804

405-878-5300 / 405-878-5133 fax

dtrim@mgmoa.org

 

TREASURER                         2015-2017

Chris Johnson, Museum Director

State Historical Society of North Dakota

North Dakota Heritage Center / 612 E. Boulevard Ave.

Bismarck, ND 58505-00612

(701) 328-2124 / Fax 701-328-3710

cjohnson@nd.gov  /  

PAST PRESIDENT             2013-2015

Joe Schenk, Director

Art Museum of South Texas

1902 N. Shoreline Blvd. / Corpus Christi, TX 78401

361-825-3507 / Fax 361-825-3520

joe.schenk@tamucc.edu / www.artmuseumofsouthtexas.org

 

BOARD MEMBERS-AT-LARGE:

BOARD MEMBER‑AT‑LARGE   2013-2016

Ann E. Billesbach, Associate Director

Education and Interpretation Division

Nebraska State Historical Society

P.O. Box 82554 / Lincoln  NE  68501

 (402)471-3499 / f:  (402)471-3314

ann.billesbach@nebraska.gov

BOARD MEMBER‑AT‑LARGE   2013-2016

Heidi Vaughn, Director

Laboratory of History Museum / Dept. of History & Geography /

University of Central Oklahoma

100 N University Dr. / Edmond, OK 73034

405-974-5789 hvaughn@uco.edu

BOARD MEMBER-AT-LARGE   2015-2018

Benjamin L. Clark

5340 Saylor St. / Lincoln, NE 68506

406-478-9295 (cell)

benjaminlclark@gmail.com

BOARD MEMBER-AT-LARGE  2015-2018

Len Thorson, Registrar

State Historical Society of North Dakota

North Dakota Heritage Center / 612 E. Boulevard Ave.

Bismarck, ND 58505-0830

phone    701-328-2666 / Fax 701-328-3710

lthorson@nd.gov  /  www.history.nd.gov

 

BOARD MEMBER-AT-LARGE 2012-2015

Filling Tim Hoheisel’s term

Dee A. Harris, Exhibits Specialist

National Archives at Kansas City

400 West Pershing Road / Kansas City, MO 64108

dee.harris@nara.gov / 816.268.8086

 

BOARD MEMBER-AT-LARGE 2012-2015

Brian Lee Whisenhunt, Executive Director

Museum of the Southwest

1705 W. Missouri Ave. / Midland, TX 79701

432-683-2882 ext. 307 / Fax 432-684-9151

bwhisenhunt@museumsw.org / www.museumsw.org

 

STATE REPRESENTATIVES:

COLORADO

Katie Heidsiek, Museum Curator

Town of Windsor Museum

301 Walnut St. / Windsor, CO 80550

970-674-2439 / Fax 970-686-7180

kbates@windsorgov.com  /  windsorgov.com/artandheritage

 

KANSAS

Shannon Hsu, Curator of Collections

Shawnee Town /. City of Shawnee

11501 W. 57th Street, Shawnee, KS  66203

 (913) 248-2360  shsu@cityofshawnee.org

 

MONTANA

Nicole Webb, Curator of Collections,

Historical Museum at Fort Missoula, 3400 Captain Rawn Way

Missoula, MT, 59804  ph:  406-728-3476 ext. 2.

nicolew@montana.com.;

www.fortmissoulamuseum.org

NEBRASKA

Ann E. Billesbach, Associate Director

Education and Interpretation Division

Nebraska State Historical Society

P.O. Box 82554 / Lincoln  NE  68501

 (402)471-3499 / f:  (402)471-3314

ann.billesbach@nebraska.gov

 

NEW MEXICO

Ryan S. Flahive, Archivist

Institute of American Indian Arts

83 Avan Nu Po Road/Santa Fe, NM 87508

505.424.2392   http://iaia.libguides.com/iaia_archives

rflahive@iaia.edu

 

NORTH DAKOTA

Kimberly Jondahl, Communications & Education Director

State Historical Society of North Dakota

612 East Boulevard Ave. / Bismarck, ND 58505

701-328-1476   kjondahl@nd.gov  history.nd.gov

 OKLAHOMA

Phyllis Wahahrockah-Tasi, Executive Director

Comanche National Museum & Cultural Center

701 NW Ferris Avenue / Lawton, OK 73507

580.353.0404 F: 580.353.0407

ptasi@comanchemuseum.com   www.comanchemuseum.com

SOUTH DAKOTA     

Sonja M Johnson, Director

South Dakota National Guard Museum

301 E Dakota Ave/ Pierre, SD 57501

605-224-9991 or 605-773-2475  (I do not have a fax)

Sonja.johnson@state.sd.us

TEXAS

Henry B. Crawford, Curator of History

Museum of Texas Tech University

Box 43191 / Lubbock, TX  79409-3191
806-742-2442 / Fax 806-742-1136
hankbob2000@yahoo.com

WYOMING

Cecil Sanderson, Cultural Resources Specialist

Fort Bridger State Historic Site

P.O. Box 35  / Fort Bridger, WY 82933

(307) 782-6706 / 700-wyo-woods@live.com

STANDING PROFESSIONAL COMMITTEES:

EdCOM (Education Committee)

MPMA Regional Rep:  Russanne Erickson , Curator of Education / Hastings Museum

PO Box 1286 / Hastings, NE 68902

402-461-2399 / Fax 402-461-2379

education@hastingsmuseum.org

National Rep:  Vacant

 

RC-MPMA (Registrars' Committee) President

Sofía Galarza Liu, Collection Manager

Spencer Museum of Art / The University of Kansas

1301 Mississippi Street / Lawrence, KS 66045

785-864-0146   

reina@ku.edu / www.spencerart.ku.edu

 

AFFILINITY GROUPS:

AAMG (Association of Academic Museums & Galleries)

Susan Longhenry, Director

Harwood Museum of Art

238 Ledoux Street / Taos, NM  87571

575.758.9826 / Fax:  575.758.1475 susanl@unm.edu

ArtsCOM     Vacant

 

COMPT Co-Chairs

Nicky Ladkin,  Assistant Director Community Engagement

Vice-Chair Museum Science

Museum of Texas Tech University

MS 43191 / Lubbock, TX 79409-3191 USA

806-742-2442 ext. 266 / Fax: (+1) 806-742-1136

nicky.ladkin@ttu.edu

 

Hyojung Cho, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Museum of Texas Tech University

3301 4th St. Box 43191 / Lubbock, TX 79409

hyojcho@gmail.com

CURCOM (Curators Committee) Co-Chairs

Elisa Phelps, Director of Collections/Library Division
History Colorado  

1200 Broadway / Denver, CO 80203   

303-866-3688  / elisa.phelps@state.co.us  www.coloradohistory.org

 

David Kennedy

EMP (Emerging Museum Professionals)  Co-Chairs

Mark Janzen, Director of Museum Studies

Department of History and Geography

University of Central Oklahoma

100 N. University Dr./ Edmond, OK 73034

405-974-5416 ofc 405-974-3837 fax

mjanzen@uco.edu

 

Erin Brown, Collections Specialist

Oklahoma Territorial Museum

402 East Oklahoma

Guthrie, OK 73044

(405) 282-1889 / erinbrown@okhistory.org

 

NAME (National Association for Museum Exhibition) C-Chairs

MPMA Regional Rep: David G. Mead, Exhibits Coordinator

Sweetwater County Historical Museum

3 East Flaming Gorge Way /Green River, WY 82935

307- 872-6436   dv_mead@yahoo.com

 

National Rep:  Vacant

 

SMAC (Small Museum Administrators Committee)

Katie Herrick, Director

Stanton County Museum

P.O. Box 806 / Johnson, KS  67855

620-492-1526 scmuse@pld.com

 

Glo Cunningham, Executive Director

Crested Butte Mountain Heritage Museum

P. O. Box 2480 / 331 Elk Ave.

Crested Butte, CO 81224

 970 349-5729  wk 970 3491880  fax 9703491885

museum@crestedbutte.cc

VCC (Volunteer Coordinators Committee)

Beth Campbell, Visitor Services Coordinator

State Historical Society of North Dakota

612 E. Boulevard Ave. / Bismarck, ND 58505

701-328‑2674 / Fax 701-328‑3710

bcampbell@nd.gov

 

NAC (Native American Connection)

Candace Morgan

Comanche National Museum & Cultural Center

701 NW Ferris Avenue

Lawton, OK 73507

580.353.0404  / F: 580.353.0407

 

MPMA BOARD COMMITTEES:

GOVERNANCE

Heidi Vaughn (See Board Member-At-Large)

ADVOCACY

Rick Young, Museum Director

Fort Caspar Museum & Historic Site

4001 Fort Caspar Rd. / Casper, WY 82604

307-235-8462 / Fax 307-235-8464

ryoung@cityofcasperwy.com

ARCHIVES

Vacant

BOARD DEVELOPMENT

Heidi Vaughn  (See Board Member-At-Large)      

 

TECHNOLOGY

David Kennedy (See Board Member-At-Large)

 

SUSTAINABILITY Chair

Jay S. Smith, State Museum Director

Museum of the South Dakota State Historical Society

900 Governors Drive / Pierre SD 57501

605.773.3798  cell 605-222-2470  

Jay.Smith@state.sd.us  / jssnm05@gmail.com

MEMBERSHIP

Ann Billesbach (See Board Member-At-Large)

COOPERATIVE PROGRAMS

Len Thorson(See Board Member-At-Large)

PURCHASING CO-OP

Deb Arenz, Associate Director for Collections

Nebraska State Historical Society

PO Box 82554 / Lincoln, NE 68501

p:  402-471-4759 / deb.arenz@nebraska.gov 

 

INSURANCE CO-OP

Mark Janzen, Director of Museum Studies

Department of History and Geography

University of Central Oklahoma

100 N. University Drive / Edmond, OK 73034

405-974-5416 / fax 405-974-3837

mjanzen@uco.edu

STORAGE EQUIOPMENT CO-OP

Erica Prater, Collections Manager

New Mexico Museum of Art
107 West Palace Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87501

505.476.5041/ 505.476.5076 fax

erica.prater@state.nm.us

ANNUAL MEETING COMMITTEES:

EXHIBITS HALL  (Coordinator)

Hillary English (See Staff)

AUCTION (Chair)

Heidi Vaughn (See EMP Chair)

AWARDS (Chair)

Kathy Dickson, Director of Museums and Historic Sites

Oklahoma Historical Society

2401 N. Laird Avenue / Oklahoma City, OK 73105-7914

405-522-5231 / Fax 405-521-2492

405-919-2795 (cell) kdickson@okhistory.org

MENTORING (Chair)

Henry Crawford (See Texas State Rep.)

SCHOLARSHIP

Chair:  Brian Whisenhunt  (see Board Member-At-Large)

Deputy Chair:  Patti Wood Finkle, Exhibits Specialist

Tate Geological Museum / Casper College

125 College Drive / Casper, WY  82601

307-268-3026 / Fax 307-268-3308

pfinkle@caspercollege.edu / www.caspercollege.edu/tate

 

MPMA STAFF:

Monta Lee Dakin, Executive Director

Mountain-Plains Museums Association

7110 West David Drive / Littleton, CO  80128-5404

303-979-9358 / Fax 303-979-3553

mountplains@aol.com

 

Erin Barrette, Assistant Conference Coordinator

7656 S. Pierce Way / Littleton, CO  80128

303-972-8855

mntplainsoffice@aol.com or info@mpma.net

 

Hillary English, Membership Coordinator / Exhibit Hall Coordinator

6760 S. Depew St. / Littleton CO. 80128

303-948-2520 / 720-323-3285 (cell)   mtplains@gmail.com 

 

Sharon Cook, Assistant Membership Coordinator

Home  303- 993-6860     303-472-6513  cell

mountplainsbooks@hotmail.com

 

Susan Romeo, Graphics Designer

Professional Images

Idaho Springs, CO / 303-569-4100  susan@susanromeo.com

 

MPMA:  A 10-State Museum Association

Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming


All content © 2002-2008 Mountain-Plains Museums Association (MPMA) | 7110 West David Drive | Littleton, CO 80128-5404

T: 303.979.9358 | F: 303.979.3553 | info@mpma.net