Log in


Join Our Mailing List
Log in

MPMA EdCom Award

Has not begun accepting nominations for 2022 -
Please check back!

EdCom Award for Programming Excellence in the MPMA Region

This award recognizes exemplary creativity and innovation in museum educational programming in the MPMA region.

Guidelines and Entry Form  (currently inactive)


Award Nominations and Competitive Award Entries will be accepted from March 15.

Deadline for entries is July 16, 2021

Notifications will be made by August 27, 2021

Rodeck Award

This award recognizes an individual member of MPMA who has contributed significant service to the museum field within the MPMA region and to MPMA.

Carolyn Garrett Pool Award

This award is given to an outstanding museum student in the MPMA region 

MPMA Awards Nomination Form and Guidelines with nomination information for the Rodeck, Leadership and Innovation, and Carolyn Garrett Pool Awards

2021 Nomination form

Leadership and Innovation  Award

This award recognizes an MPMA member institution for its innovation and leadership.

President’s Award

The President’s award is given for significant service to MPMA. The award can be presented to an individual, institution, or business that is a member of MPMA in recognition for extra-ordinary service to the organization. The award is a public recognition of those people, institutions or businesses that have contributed significantly in any capacity to the continued growth and success of MPMA.

Competitive Award Program

Publication Design Competition 

The Mountain-Plains Museums Association (MPMA) is accepting entries for the annual publication design competition. The Publication Design Competition recognizes outstanding publication design by MPMA member institutions.  This is a juried competition with a minimum of three judges.

Competition Guidelines and Entry Form  

Technology Competition

The MPMA Technology Competition recognizes museums for innovative and effective use of technology to serve the needs of their audience. This is a juried competition with a minimum of three judges.  Judges are museum and media professionals with expertise in media and technology programming, production, and subject content.

Competition Guidelines and Entry Form 

Professional Interest Network Awards

2019 Award Winners

President’s Award

Retired MPMA Executive Director Monta-Lee Dakin

Carolyn Garrett Pool Award for Outstanding Museum Studies Student

Jessica Morris, Heritage and Museum Sciences Program, Museum of Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas

MPMA Poster Awards

First Place
Melissa LaFortune, Graduate Research Assistant, Heritage and Museum Sciences Program, Museum of Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas for Provenience Tags Reloaded: Digitizing Archaeological Documents

Second Place
Diana Vargas, Helen DeVitt Jones Fellow, Heritage and Museum Sciences Program, Museum of Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas for Organization of the Mystery Post Quarry Fossils

MPMA Technology Awards

Minuteman Missile National Historic Site, Philip, SD

Leadership and Innovation Award

History Nebraska  for "Using Curiosity to Grow Staff Capacity for Audience-Centered Engagement"

EdCom Award

MPMA Publication Design Competition

Kauffman Museum, North Newton, KS

Bone Creek Museum of Agrarian Art, David City, NE

History Colorado, Denver, CO

Support MPMA just by surfing the web

MPMA: A 10-State Regional Museum Association

Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming

1540 Yakima Drive | Colorado Springs, CO 80915
T: 440-812-7221   | |

All content © 2016 Mountain-Plains Museums Association (MPMA)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software